PLATTER & PLINTH

The Best Stylus Force Gauges for Turntables

Every setup guide on this site says to confirm tracking force with a gauge, and none of them named one. Here are six, ranked on the only two figures that separate an instrument from a novelty: the accuracy the maker will put in writing, and where the stylus sits when it is measured.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Tracking force is the one setting on a turntable that can damage records if it is wrong in either direction, and it is set by a dial that was calibrated in a factory, on a different day, for an arm that has since been shipped, unboxed and balanced by you. On most decks the dial is close. A gauge is how you find out whether “close” means a twentieth of a gram or half a gram, and it is the only way to know on an arm whose scale has drifted, on a cartridge whose window is narrow, or after any swap.

The market for these is mostly the same small digital scale sold under a dozen names, and the listings compete on the resolution figure — 0.01 g, 0.005 g — which is the least important number on the box. Resolution is how finely a scale displays. Accuracy is how close the display is to the truth, and most listings do not state it. So this page ranks on two things the listings would rather you did not ask about: whether the maker publishes an accuracy figure, and at what height above the platter the stylus is measured, because a stylus resting on a plate 7 mm up is not quite where it sits on a record. Everything else — range, calibration mass, batteries — is a tiebreaker.

Prices move, and every one of these is cheap enough that the difference between two picks is lunch. The buttons carry the live figure and the date it was read.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when to skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published accuracy and measuring height, then on what is in the box. Every listing was checked live for a real, buyable offer before it was written up. We have not measured these gauges against a reference mass ourselves; here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Riverstone Audio Record-Level Stylus VTF Gauge

Riverstone Audio Record-Level Stylus VTF Gauge

The only gauge in this class that measures the stylus where it actually plays. A detachable stainless arm carries the pad 2 to 3 mm above the mat — the height of a stylus resting on a record — where every flat-plate gauge reads 6 to 8 mm higher and therefore at a slightly different arm angle. Riverstone publishes a 0.005 g resolution, a stated ±0.005 g calibration error, and ships two calibration masses so you can check it yourself. Everything else on this page is a scale; this is an instrument.

Best overall
$36.95 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 16, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Neoteck Digital Stylus Force Gauge (0.01 g / 5 g)

Neoteck Digital Stylus Force Gauge (0.01 g / 5 g)

The gauge most vinyl owners actually buy, and for the job most of them have — confirming a counterweight dial is within a tenth of a gram — it is enough. Neoteck publishes what the cheaper listings do not: a 0.01 g resolution, a ±0.02 g accuracy figure, a 5 g range, and a 5 g calibration weight in the box. It measures on a flat plate at platform height, not at record level, which is the honest reason it ranks below the Riverstone.

Best for most people
$13.59 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 16, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Neoteck Stylus Force Scale Gauge (0.005 g / 100 g)

Neoteck Stylus Force Scale Gauge (0.005 g / 100 g)

Neoteck's step-up buys three things the cheaper gauge lacks: 0.005 g resolution with a published ±0.015 g accuracy, a 100 g range wide enough to weigh a cartridge or a headshell, and an auto-off you can set anywhere from 0 to 300 seconds instead of a fixed two minutes. A 20 g calibration weight and a AAA battery are in the box. Still a flat-plate gauge, so the Riverstone's record-level argument still applies.

Best step-up (weighs cartridges too)
$17.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 16, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Ortofon DS-3 Digital Stylus Pressure Gauge

Ortofon DS-3 Digital Stylus Pressure Gauge

The gauge from the company whose cartridges half this site's decks ship with, and the only one here that publishes its tolerance as a calibration statement rather than a listing bullet: factory pre-calibrated to ±0.01 g, 0.01 g sensitivity, 0.1 to 200 g range, two AAA batteries, backlit LCD, 70 g. It is a flat-plate gauge like the Neotecks and it costs several times as much; you are paying for Ortofon's calibration and Ortofon's name, and the Amazon listing we can find is a third-party seller.

Best from a cartridge maker
$108.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 16, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
DIGITNOW Digital Stylus Force Scale Gauge (0.01 g / 5 g)

DIGITNOW Digital Stylus Force Scale Gauge (0.01 g / 5 g)

The cheapest branded gauge we could find with a live listing, and the one to buy if the whole job is a single check after a cartridge swap. It publishes a 0.01 g resolution, a tare function, a calibration weight in the box and two button batteries — and no accuracy figure at all, which is why it ranks below the Neoteck that costs a few dollars more and states one.

Cheapest branded gauge
$10.44 · View on Amazon

$10.995% off

Price as of September 16, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
Ortofon Stylus Pressure Gauge (mechanical)

Ortofon Stylus Pressure Gauge (mechanical)

The see-saw. A small plastic pivot balance with no battery, no display and nothing to calibrate, that reads tracking force between 1.25 g and 4 g by where the beam levels. It cannot resolve a hundredth of a gram and does not pretend to; what it can do is sit in the drawer for twenty years and still work. For a deck whose cartridge specifies a range rather than a figure — most do — that is often enough.

Best with no battery
$15.00 · View on Amazon

$15.996% off

Price as of September 16, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Riverstone Audio Record-Level Stylus VTF Gauge

The only gauge in this class that measures the stylus where it actually plays. A detachable stainless arm carries the pad 2 to 3 mm above the mat — the height of a stylus resting on a record — where every flat-plate gauge reads 6 to 8 mm higher and therefore at a slightly different arm angle. Riverstone publishes a 0.005 g resolution, a stated ±0.005 g calibration error, and ships two calibration masses so you can check it yourself. Everything else on this page is a scale; this is an instrument.

Strengths

  • Measures at record level (2-3 mm above the mat) via the cantilevered arm, which is the correct height for a stylus that sits on a 1.9-2.9 mm record
  • 0.005 g resolution and a published ±0.005 g measurement error after a multi-point calibration
  • Two calibration masses (5 g and 20 g) in the box, so the reading can be verified and re-calibrated at home
  • Non-magnetic build: ABS housing, 316 stainless steel arm, brass and aluminum screw — matters with the strong magnets in modern MC and MI cartridges
  • Three-year warranty and a tin storage box; a US company that publishes its own patent number (D878232)

Trade-offs

  • Two to three times the price of the flat-plate gauges below, for an accuracy difference most counterweight users will never resolve
  • Fitting the extension arm takes a screwdriver-free but fiddly minute — the maker's own page says it needs 'a good pair of glasses' and patience
  • Requires one AAA alkaline battery and it is NOT included
  • Riverstone warns of counterfeit copies of this exact design on marketplaces; buy from the Riverstone Audio listing, not a lookalike
TypeDigital strain-gauge scale with detachable record-level arm
Resolution0.005 g
Stated accuracyWithin ±0.005 g (multi-point calibration, published by the maker)
Measuring height2-3 mm above the mat (record level), via the extension arm
RangeCalibrated with 5 g and 20 g masses; re-calibratable to 100 g with additional masses (not supplied)
Non-magnetic partsABS housing, 316 stainless arm, brass/aluminum locking screw
Dimensions52 x 91 x 12 mm (cover removed)
Power1 x AAA alkaline (not included); auto-off after 60-120 s
Warranty3 years (maker's statement)

Note. Riverstone's argument for the arm is geometric, not mystical: a stylus measured 6-8 mm above the platter sits at a different vertical angle from one on a record, and on some arms that changes the force slightly. Whether the difference matters on your deck is a fair question; that this gauge removes it is not in dispute.

Specifications read from the manufacturer / product listing, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best for most people

Neoteck Digital Stylus Force Gauge (0.01 g / 5 g)

The gauge most vinyl owners actually buy, and for the job most of them have — confirming a counterweight dial is within a tenth of a gram — it is enough. Neoteck publishes what the cheaper listings do not: a 0.01 g resolution, a ±0.02 g accuracy figure, a 5 g range, and a 5 g calibration weight in the box. It measures on a flat plate at platform height, not at record level, which is the honest reason it ranks below the Riverstone.

Strengths

  • Publishes an accuracy figure (±0.02 g), which most gauges at this price do not
  • 0.01 g resolution over a 5 g range — the whole span any cartridge on this site tracks at
  • 5 g calibration weight and a leather case in the box; tare and auto-off after 2 minutes
  • Aluminum sensor platform described as non-magnetic, so a cartridge magnet does not pull the reading
  • Backlit LCD you can read with the lid up and the room dim

Trade-offs

  • Measures the stylus on a plate at platform height, several millimeters above where it sits on a record
  • Battery type and count are not stated in the listing's feature copy
  • The 5 g ceiling means it cannot weigh a headshell or a cartridge for effective-mass arithmetic
  • Neoteck sells the same gauge under several listings and colors, so the price depends on which one you click
TypeDigital flat-plate scale
Resolution0.01 g
Stated accuracy±0.02 g (listing)
Range0-5.00 g
Measuring heightPlatform height (not published as a figure)
Calibration weight5 g, included
Dimensions96 x 43 x 20 mm
PowerNot published in the listing; auto-off after 2 minutes
Unitsg, oz, ct, ozt, gn, tl

Note. Tare it with nothing on the plate, then lower the stylus with the cueing lever rather than by hand. Dropping a stylus onto any scale is how cantilevers get bent, and no gauge can protect you from that.

Specifications read from the manufacturer / product listing, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best step-up (weighs cartridges too)

Neoteck Stylus Force Scale Gauge (0.005 g / 100 g)

Neoteck's step-up buys three things the cheaper gauge lacks: 0.005 g resolution with a published ±0.015 g accuracy, a 100 g range wide enough to weigh a cartridge or a headshell, and an auto-off you can set anywhere from 0 to 300 seconds instead of a fixed two minutes. A 20 g calibration weight and a AAA battery are in the box. Still a flat-plate gauge, so the Riverstone's record-level argument still applies.

Strengths

  • 0.005 g resolution and a stated ±0.015 g accuracy — the tightest published figure among the flat-plate gauges here
  • 0-100 g range: weigh a cartridge, a headshell or a record weight on the same device
  • Auto-off is adjustable from 0 to 300 s, so the display does not die mid-adjustment
  • 20 g calibration weight, spare tray, AAA battery and manual all included
  • Frosted cover protects the platform between uses

Trade-offs

  • Flat-plate measurement at platform height — the record-level question is unanswered
  • The 100 g range is achieved with the same sensor, so the 0.005 g digit at the bottom of the range is a resolution figure, not a promise of accuracy at that digit
  • Roughly a third more than the 0.01 g Neoteck for a difference most counterweights cannot resolve
  • The cover needs a flat surface to open and close smoothly, per the maker's own note
TypeDigital flat-plate scale
Resolution0.005 g
Stated accuracy±0.015 g (listing)
Range0-100 g
Measuring heightPlatform height (not published as a figure)
Calibration weight20 g, included
Dimensions95 x 45 x 13 mm
PowerAAA (included); auto-off adjustable 0-300 s
PlatformNon-magnetic aluminum (listing)

Note. The 100 g range is the useful part for anyone doing tonearm arithmetic: the effective mass sums on this site need the cartridge's weight, and cartridge makers do not always publish it. This weighs one.

Specifications read from the manufacturer / product listing, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best from a cartridge maker

Ortofon DS-3 Digital Stylus Pressure Gauge

The gauge from the company whose cartridges half this site's decks ship with, and the only one here that publishes its tolerance as a calibration statement rather than a listing bullet: factory pre-calibrated to ±0.01 g, 0.01 g sensitivity, 0.1 to 200 g range, two AAA batteries, backlit LCD, 70 g. It is a flat-plate gauge like the Neotecks and it costs several times as much; you are paying for Ortofon's calibration and Ortofon's name, and the Amazon listing we can find is a third-party seller.

Strengths

  • Published tolerance of ±0.01 g from a cartridge manufacturer, not a scale reseller
  • 0.1-200 g range: weighs a cartridge, a headshell or a record weight as well as a stylus
  • Two AAA batteries, a backlit LCD, auto-dim after 5 s and auto-off after 60 s
  • Non-magnetic construction stated by the maker
  • The one gauge here whose spec sheet is written by a company that also specifies tracking force for its own cartridges

Trade-offs

  • Flat-plate measurement at platform height, exactly like the gauges a fraction of its price
  • The Amazon listing is a third-party seller; Ortofon's own store listed it at 159 euros and 'Unavailable' when we checked — confirm the seller before you buy
  • No calibration mass is mentioned in Ortofon's spec, so you cannot verify the ±0.01 g claim at home
  • At 120 x 60 mm it is the largest gauge here and the least likely to fit under a dust cover while measuring
TypeDigital flat-plate scale
Resolution0.01 g
Stated accuracyFactory pre-calibrated, tolerance ±0.01 g (maker)
Range0.1-200 g
Measuring heightPlatform height (not published as a figure)
Calibration weightNot mentioned by the maker
Dimensions120 x 60 x 17 mm; 70 g
Power2 x AAA; auto-dim 5 s, auto-off 60 s
Operating temperature+10 to +30 C (maker)

Note. Ortofon publishes the operating range and the warning not to load the plate beyond 200 g; it does not publish a measuring height. For an Ortofon 2M owner the maker's recommended 1.8 g is the number to hit, and any gauge on this page resolves that.

Specifications read from the manufacturer / product listing, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5Cheapest branded gauge

DIGITNOW Digital Stylus Force Scale Gauge (0.01 g / 5 g)

The cheapest branded gauge we could find with a live listing, and the one to buy if the whole job is a single check after a cartridge swap. It publishes a 0.01 g resolution, a tare function, a calibration weight in the box and two button batteries — and no accuracy figure at all, which is why it ranks below the Neoteck that costs a few dollars more and states one.

Strengths

  • Lowest price on this page from a company that puts its own name on the product
  • 0.01 g resolution over 5 g, tare, auto-off and a calibration weight, all in the box
  • Two button batteries included, so it works out of the packet
  • Described as non-magnetic and suitable for MM, MC and MI cartridges
  • Leather sheath for the drawer

Trade-offs

  • No accuracy figure is published anywhere in the listing — resolution is not accuracy
  • Flat-plate measurement at platform height
  • The calibration weight's mass is not stated in the feature copy
  • Button cells run down faster than a AAA and are less likely to be in the house when they do
TypeDigital flat-plate scale
Resolution0.01 g
Stated accuracyNot published
Range0-5.00 g
Measuring heightPlatform height (not published as a figure)
Calibration weightIncluded (mass not published)
DimensionsNot published (listing gives 3.82 x 1.6 x 0.7 in shipping figures)
Power2 button batteries (included); auto-off

Note. If you are buying this to check a fully automatic deck with a fixed arm, stop: there is nothing to adjust on the AT-LP60X, so a gauge can only tell you the factory setting, not change it.

Specifications read from the manufacturer / product listing, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#6Best with no battery

Ortofon Stylus Pressure Gauge (mechanical)

The see-saw. A small plastic pivot balance with no battery, no display and nothing to calibrate, that reads tracking force between 1.25 g and 4 g by where the beam levels. It cannot resolve a hundredth of a gram and does not pretend to; what it can do is sit in the drawer for twenty years and still work. For a deck whose cartridge specifies a range rather than a figure — most do — that is often enough.

Strengths

  • No battery, no electronics, nothing to drift or calibrate
  • 1.25-4 g range covers every cartridge this site recommends
  • From the cartridge maker, so the graduations are aimed at cartridge ranges rather than jewelry
  • Small enough to live in the tonearm's box

Trade-offs

  • Reads to the graduation on the beam, which Ortofon does not publish as a resolution figure — it will not resolve hundredths of a gram
  • A pivot balance is sensitive to the surface being level, which is the first thing this site's setup guide tells you to fix anyway
  • Listing showed 'Only 12 left in stock' when we checked — a low-volume item that comes and goes
  • Cannot weigh anything but a stylus, and cannot check itself
TypeMechanical pivot balance
ResolutionNot published (graduated beam)
Stated accuracyNot published
Range1.25-4 g (listing)
Measuring heightBeam height above the surface it sits on (not published)
CalibrationNone required or possible
DimensionsNot published
PowerNone

Note. A mechanical gauge cannot be zeroed, so it must sit on a level surface — the platter with the mat removed is the usual place. Read it at eye level, not from above.

Specifications read from the manufacturer / product listing, on September 15, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

The two figures this page is ranked on

Stated accuracy. A resolution of 0.01 g means the last digit changes in hundredths. It says nothing about whether the reading is right. The figure that does is accuracy or tolerance, and on this page only four of the six gauges have one: Riverstone states a measurement error within ±0.005 g after a multi-point calibration, Ortofon states a factory tolerance of ±0.01 g for the DS-3, and Neoteck states ±0.02 g for its 0.01 g gauge and ±0.015 g for its 0.005 g gauge. DIGITNOW publishes resolution only, and the mechanical Ortofon publishes neither, because a beam balance has no digit to be accurate to. Where a figure is missing the spec table says “Not published” rather than guessing.

Measuring height. A stylus on a record sits roughly 2 to 3 mm above the mat, because that is how thick a record is. A stylus on a flat-plate gauge sits on top of the gauge’s housing — Riverstone puts the typical figure at 6 to 8 mm — which tilts the arm up by a small amount and, on some arms, changes the downward force by a small amount too. Riverstone’s gauge is the only one here that moves the measuring pad to record level on a cantilevered arm, and that is why it is first. Whether the difference is audible on your deck is a fair question. That the other five cannot answer it is the finding.

Two tiebreakers follow. A calibration mass in the box lets you check the gauge against a known weight before you trust it; Riverstone (5 g and 20 g), the 0.005 g Neoteck (20 g), the 0.01 g Neoteck (5 g) and DIGITNOW (unstated mass) include one, the DS-3 does not mention one, and the balance cannot be checked. And non-magnetic construction matters more than it used to: the magnets in modern moving-coil and moving-iron cartridges can pull on a steel platform and pull the reading with it. Every digital gauge here describes itself as non-magnetic; only Riverstone names the alloy.

When a gauge is worth owning, and when the dial is enough

The honest answer this site has given in its setup guides is that a counterweight dial is usually close, and it still is. A gauge earns its place in four situations:

  • After a cartridge swap. The new cartridge weighs a different amount, the arm was rebalanced by hand, and the dial’s zero was set by eye. The cartridge setup guide walks through the balance; the gauge confirms it.
  • An advanced stylus profile. A MicroLine or Shibata tip has a narrower window than a conical, and sits wrong in the groove faster when the force is off. If you have upgraded to the AT-VM95ML or a 2M Blue, the gauge is part of the upgrade.
  • An older or secondhand arm whose counterweight scale you have no reason to trust, or a counterweight that has been replaced.
  • A deck with no dial at all. Some arms set force by sliding the counterweight against no scale. A gauge is the only instrument there is.

And one situation where it cannot help: a fully automatic deck with a fixed arm. The Audio-Technica AT-LP60X has no counterweight, so a gauge can report the factory force but you cannot change it. The automatic roundup names the automatics that do have a counterweight, which is where a gauge becomes useful again.

What the numbers you are checking against actually are

A gauge is only useful against a target, and the target is published by the cartridge maker, not the turntable maker. Audio-Technica specifies 1.8 to 2.3 g for the AT-VM95E, with 2.0 g as the standard setting; Ortofon specifies 1.6 to 2.0 g for the 2M Red and recommends 1.8 g. Those windows are the reason a 0.01 g gauge is not overkill and a kitchen scale is: a scale that reads to 0.1 g cannot tell you whether a 2M Red is at 1.75 g or 1.85 g, and the whole window is only 0.4 g wide. Every cartridge the site recommends publishes its window on its own page; the cartridge roundup links each one.

How to use one

  1. Level the deck first. Every gauge here, digital or mechanical, assumes a level surface, and the setup guide puts leveling at step one for the same reason.
  2. Place the gauge where the record would be — on the platter, over the mat — and tare it with nothing on the pad. On a flat-plate gauge, note that the pad is a few millimeters above record level; on the Riverstone, fit the arm so the pad is at record level.
  3. Lower the stylus with the cueing lever, onto the center of the pad, and let go of the arm. Never lower a stylus onto a scale by hand: a slip bends the cantilever, and no gauge on earth protects against that.
  4. Read it, then adjust the counterweight by the difference and read again. Two or three passes is normal. The tonearm guide covers the counterweight itself.
  5. Set anti-skate to match the force you measured, not the force the dial claimed.

What is deliberately not on this page

Unbranded clones. The search for this class returns the same gauge under a dozen storefront names, most with no maker page, no accuracy figure and no one to warrant it. Riverstone warns on its own site that its patented design has been counterfeited with steel arms that attract a cartridge’s magnet toward the stylus. Every pick here has a maker that puts its name on the product and publishes at least a resolution figure.

Jewelry and kitchen scales. A pocket scale that reads to 0.1 g is not fine enough for a 0.4 g window, and a scale with a steel platform is the magnet problem in a different box.

A Clearaudio gauge came back in the search with a single unit in stock. A listing that will be dead next week is not a recommendation.

What no maker in this class publishes

Only Riverstone publishes a measuring height, and no flat-plate gauge does — not one of the four states how far above the platter its pad sits. Only Riverstone and Ortofon describe a calibration procedure; the rest ship a weight and leave the method to you. And no maker here publishes the drift of its sensor with temperature, which is why Ortofon’s 10 to 30 °C operating range is the closest thing on this page to a statement about it. That is not a reason to skip a gauge. It is a reason to check yours against the calibration mass before you check your arm against it.

Frequently asked questions

Do I need a stylus force gauge?

Not to get a good result on a new deck — the counterweight dial is usually close. You need one after a cartridge swap, with a MicroLine or Shibata stylus whose force window is narrow, on an older arm whose scale you cannot trust, or on an arm with no scale at all. On a fixed-arm automatic like the AT-LP60X it cannot help, because there is nothing to adjust.

What is the difference between resolution and accuracy on a stylus gauge?

Resolution is how finely the display changes — 0.01 g or 0.005 g. Accuracy is how close the display is to the true force. Most listings publish only resolution. On this page Riverstone states ±0.005 g, Ortofon ±0.01 g for the DS-3, Neoteck ±0.02 g and ±0.015 g; DIGITNOW publishes no accuracy figure.

Why does measuring height matter?

A stylus on a record sits about 2-3 mm above the mat. A flat-plate gauge puts it several millimeters higher, which tilts the arm up slightly and, on some arms, changes the downward force slightly. Riverstone's gauge moves the pad to record level on an arm; the flat-plate gauges do not publish their height at all.

How much tracking force should I set?

Whatever the cartridge maker specifies — it is on the cartridge's own page, not the turntable's. Audio-Technica publishes 1.8-2.3 g (2.0 g standard) for the AT-VM95E; Ortofon publishes 1.6-2.0 g (1.8 g recommended) for the 2M Red. Set the figure, confirm it with the gauge, then match anti-skate to it.

Can I use a jewelry scale instead?

A scale that reads to 0.1 g cannot resolve a 0.4 g window, and a steel platform can pull on a cartridge's magnet. A dedicated gauge that reads to 0.01 g on a non-magnetic pad costs about the same and is the right tool.

Is the mechanical Ortofon balance accurate enough?

For a cartridge that specifies a range rather than a single figure, usually. It reads to the graduation on its beam, and Ortofon does not publish that graduation as a figure; it needs a level surface and cannot be checked against a mass. Its advantage is that it needs no battery and will work in a decade.

Sources

  • Riverstone Audio — Record-Level Stylus VTF Pressure Gauge (Graphite)The maker's own page, and the argument the whole page is ranked on: "For accurate VTF measurement, the stylus tip should be at the same vertical position as the record surface - that is, at \"record level\"." With the patented arm (US Patent D878232) "vertical tracking force is measured approx. 2 mm to 3 mm from the surface of a turntable mat or platter - which is the height of a stylus tip resting on an LP record (LP's have a thickness range of 1.9 mm to 2.9 mm)", while "less expensive gauges typically have a stylus tip measurement distance between 6 and 8 mm". Published figures: 0.005 g resolution; "All gauges we ship will have a measurement error within +/-0.005 g" after "a rigorous multi-point calibration procedure"; two calibration masses (5 g and 20 g) supplied; re-calibratable "for use up to 100 g" with additional masses; housing "durable plastic", arm "316 stainless steel, a premium non-ferromagnetic grade", locking screw "machined from brass"; 52 mm x 91 mm x 12 mm; one AAA alkaline, not included; a warning about counterfeit copies of the design on marketplaces; and the honest line that fitting the arm "requires a good pair of glasses, a bit of technical savvy, and a good dose of patience" (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • Ortofon — DS-3 Stylus Pressure GaugeThe cartridge maker's own product page: "a miniature ultra precision non-magnetic instrument", "factory pre-calibrated for high accuracy measurements with the tolerance of +/-0.01 g". Published specification: "Sensitivity - 0.01g", "Operational weight range - 0.1 g to 200 g", "Battery - 2 x AAA", "Size - (L) 120 mm x (W) 60 mm x (H) 17 mm", "Weight - 70 g", backlit LCD, auto-off; the display "will automatically dim to saving mode after 5 seconds of inactivity and turn off after 60 seconds"; operating temperature "+10 - +30C"; "Do not place objects weighting more than 200 g on the measurement plate". The page listed the gauge at 159.00 euros and "Unavailable" on the access date — which is why the entry's cons tell the reader to check the seller on the Amazon listing (accessed September 15, 2026)
  • Audio-Technica — AT-VM95E cartridgeManufacturer specs: elliptical stylus, 4.0 mV output, 1.8-2.3 g tracking force (accessed July 24, 2026)
  • Ortofon — 2M RedManufacturer specs: 5.5 mV output, 1.6-2.0 g tracking (1.8 g recommended), 47 kOhm load (accessed July 24, 2026)
  • Audio-Technica — Balancing the tonearm and setting tracking forceManufacturer procedure for zero-balancing an arm, then dialing tracking force and anti-skate (accessed August 19, 2026)
  • Elusive Disc — Turntable setup guide: tracking force & anti-skateStep-by-step on balancing the tonearm, setting tracking force and anti-skate (accessed July 24, 2026)

Keep reading